Google Drive is Almost Awesome – Needs Gmail Integration

It seems like every time they launch something new they completely forget about this little app they have called Gmail! I’m not sure why Google does this… As much as I use Google for searching, I use Gmail more than anything else. I would venture to guess that most people that use a Google product use Gmail more than anything else (except maybe Google Analytics – can’t think of web life w/o Google Analytics!)

A quick search (on Google, of course). shows that a couple of years ago, my guessing is spot on!

So, why wouldn’t Google immediately extend the attachment processing in Gmail to include the ability to save the document into a Google Drive? Was this an oversight? Too much additional code? Or just plain stupidity?

Captain Obvious will point point that one can just download it into one’s Google Drive folder… Well, thank you Captain Obvious, but you’re missing the point. I don’t want to save it to my local drive and then have it sync to the cloud. I want Google to take it and put it into the cloud for me. That’s what I’m paying them zero dollars a month for!

In all seriousness, expanding the download to allow you to save it to your Google Drive would truly allow you to have your Google cloud everywhere. What if I’m on a trip and using a computer that doesn’t have my Google Drive on it? Or using a library computer? What if I’m using my Ubuntu install instead of my Windoze install? What if I’m just checking my email on someone else’s computer? What if I’m using my phone to check the email? Why waste the bandwidth Google? Why have your second most popular product (#1 in the world of consumable products) be an afterthought? C’mon guys! Gmail is the best product you have! Hands down the best email system on the web! And you completely neglect to integrate Google Drive directly with Gmail? That’s just sad 😦

Edit: Obviously, I’m talking about images, PDF, etc. None Google Docs attachments

    Leave a Reply

