Faux Smiles = Deal Breaker

We’ve all had those moments when we see an ex for the first time in months (or years) after breaking up. When it’s a bad breakup, there isn’t much thought behind seeing them. They sucked! Move on. But when the breakup wasn’t a bad split, they weren’t a bad person, you didn’t fight, they seemed like a good fit but something just wasn’t right… That’s a different story.

My last couple of breakups have been fairly tame. Both were missing attempts on my giant teddy bear’s life, so in my book they were calm. Today I saw one of the recent exes. We had arranged a meeting for her to get some Christmas gifts for her dad and brother that my company makes. I didn’t think I’d have a moment where I was going to fall madly back in love with her, but I wasn’t sure if I’d look at her and realize that maybe I should have made more of an effort.

There was a knock on my door… I opened the door and there she was. She’s still a great looking woman, but the one thing that just killed it for me was still there: She fake smiles. She fake smiles a lot! I’ve dated a few faux smilers in the past, but it wasn’t until this recent one that I realized for sure that I just can’t do the fake smiler thing.

I can’t fake smile. It’s almost impossible for me to do it. I’m sure there are photos that exist of me with a fake smile, but I don’t have any and don’t know of any for certain. This ex though… Almost every smile is a faux smile. The sad thing is that when she really smiles, it’s a great smile! I just can’t do the fake smile. That makes it much easier to accept the end of the relationship for good.

It’s not to say that this woman is fake. She’s quite genuine. She’s very real and down to Earth. She has a great genuine smile, but you get a faux smile more often than the genuine one.

    Leave a Reply

