I’m In Love With You but I Don’t Love You

Love is a funny thing. I’ve had guys tell me they are in love after they come back from getting a lap dance at a strip club. I’ve told girls I was in love with them because I wanted to get laid. I’ve seen people who don’t tell someone they love them until it’s too late.

Then you get into the whole “I love you, but I’m not IN love with you” thing. That’s a pretty good one. Major props to the guy who came up with that one!

There are numerous studies and plenty of psychobabble about what love really is. I’m sure there are even studies that have tackled the issue of being in love with someone vs just loving them. After all, there must be something to it, right? I mean, I love my dogs, but I’m not going to marry any of them. They are pretty awesome dogs and excellent companions, but I don’t feel any urge to go marry any of them.

Does marriage really equate to being in love though? I haven’t felt the urge to actually marry any of the women I’ve dated. Does that mean I’ve never been in love? I mean, a few of them were even strippers, and since that equates to love to some men I know there must be something wrong with me if I really haven’t been in love.

Or maybe I’ve been in love with my fourth grade teacher this entire time and that is why I haven’t gotten married to any of these women I’ve dated in my adult life! That must be it! She was pretty hot…

    Leave a Reply

