Semi-Annual Bachelor Party: You Don’t have to be Getting Married to Have a Party!

I was watching “It’s a Guy Thing” on my Vudu with my roommate last night. It was my first night back after my trip to Hotlanta. I was pointing out the different movie characters, trying to tie them to different people in my life. Of course, with me being the main character. I told my roommate it would be a great thing to have a bachelor party without the marriage the next day/week. She said I should just have a bachelor party anyway!

At first, I didn’t see the logic. After all, I’m just a caveman. I said, you can’t have a bachelor party without getting married. Her reply??? Well, you are a bachelor. DING!!! The light bulb lit up! She was right. I AM a bachelor, and I should have a bachelor party!

Now, I know that some might be thinking that every “dude party” is a bachelor party. This isn’t quite true. I mean, a bachelor party has a designated best man and the entire point is to get the bachelor completely wasted the night before he decides to spend the rest of his life (or at least a few months) with the woman he loves. Wikipedia sums it up quite well:

Bachelor parties in the US often entail the mass consumption of alcohol, the hiring of a stripper and general rowdiness toward which the bride might not have a positive reaction (especially since the bride is typically not among the invitees). Increasingly, bachelor parties have come to symbolize the last time when the groom is free of the influence of his new wife.

Most dude parties are usually a sausage festival with cigars and a poker table. So, when it became clear to me that one mustn’t marry to partake in bachelor party festivities, I don’t think I have ever experienced a greater moment of glee in my entire life. Instantly, some of my favorite cities came to mind: Vegas, Cabo, Vancouver, Chicago, New Orleans, New York, Tijuana. Of course, I immediately messaged my little brother to inform him about my new idea of semi-annual bachelor parties. After all, were I to ever end my bachelorhood, he would be the first person I would call anyway.

The idea is simple:

  1. Designate the bachelor. Anyone not married is eligible!
  2. Designate the best man and bachelor party. This can be a mix of bachelors and married gents, but the emphasis is on gents.
  3. By Committee, choose the location
  4. Book a party bus, group flights, cruise location, and/or hotel plenty of time in advance
  5. Pretend like it is really a bachelor party for the bachelor. It’s not a cigar and poker night sausage festival!

Remember: Sharing is caring, especially in this down economy. Pooling money and resources can help those less fortunate. Be kind and generous to those less fortunate, and certainly help out those who can’t get laid on their own.

I can’t decide if I want to combo my First Semi-Annual Bachelor Party with my birthday next month. One thing is for sure… There will be a Semi-Annual Bachelor Party in Spring 2011 in Mexico!

  1. I hereby support this proposal. (for selfish monetary reasons of course)

  1. 1 Bachelor and Bachelorette Party Ideas « Feed My Blog

    […] should have as many bachelor parties as possible before he gets married. I’ve posted about my Semi-Annual Bachelor party idea before. However, I do have an idea for a real bachelor party: a […]




Leave a Reply

