I Want a Blank That Makes Me Happy

I heard it twice today, “I want a job that makes me happy.” You can replace job with anything, and it is probably one of the most common statements you’ll hear. I’ve certainly said that phrase many times before. I even think I’m so lame that I said “I just want a relationship that makes me happy.”

Call it age, losing my best friend to suicide, or supreme enlightenment, but I really don’t need or want something that makes me happy except for myself. That’s not to say that I don’t get happy when I ride my motorcycle or when I am dancing or when I’m hanging out with my family and friends. Those and so many other things make me happy. However, I am happy regardless. The work that I do is work that is exciting because I make it exciting. The hobbies that I pursue are exciting because I make them exciting. Because I am happy, what I have in my life becomes happy.

It’s not to say that I’m loony happy all the time. When I lost one of my best friends to suicide, I was not happy. When my girlfriend of 5.5 years said it was my fault and that I didn’t deserve the life I have, I was not happy. When my Ubuntu 9.04 upgrade hosed my computer and about $200 worth of music, I was not happy. When my Magento upgrade did not go as planned, I was pretty pissed off.

Aside from the minor tantrums that I throw here and there, I’m a really happy guy. I guess what makes me happy is me. “I just want a me that makes me happy.” And that’s what I have, so everything else is gravy ūüėÄ

    Leave a Reply

