Emergency Contact

When you date the same person for more than 5 years they become part of your life unlike any other. Some of the parts of their life that intertwine with yours become second nature. You do things without thinking about it.

I had this experience the other day when I was booking an international flight. The airline was requesting an emergency contact for the unlikely event that something goes wrong with the flight. Now, I’ve done a lot of traveling over the last few years. I’ve used the same person as my primary contact for many different things over the years.

Earlier this week was the first time I put my mom’s name and contact information for my emergency contact in about four years. I actually started filling out my ex’s information without even thinking about it. It’s just second nature; I’ve filled it out so many times. There was a certain sense of finality that came with this experience though.

    Leave a Reply

