Magic Jack = Cool Tech: Phone Service for $20/year?

I received an email from a friend about Magic Jack this morning. At first, I was thinking it was one of those jacks you can use on your car that automatically jacks up your car using a hydraulic jack powered by the car battery. What I ended up seeing was something totally different.

The Magic Jack is a USB device that you plug into your computer and then plug your regular phone into the jack in the back. The device allows you to use your regular phone to make calls anywhere in the US or Canada (sorry Mexico). Supposedly, it sets up in about 45 seconds and requires no additional software. Their website says that the first year is $39.95 and subsequent years at $19.95. Vonage… Who’s that?

  1. _____________ macon, Ga

    Subject: Re: — Spam –magicJack Order#: DT00543593 Confirmation

    Hello:
    I have returned the majic Jack to you on Monday 6/23/08. I think that I forgot
    to put my return address on the package. I sent it from Gray, Ga Poat office. I
    hope you can give me credit and not charge me for it.

    Thanking you,
    Jack Holloway

    Admin Notes:
    Jack: I don’t sell this product. I just wrote about it because it is a cool product. Please contact them directly. Also, PLEASE NEVER post your address on a public blog like this. I have edited out your address information that you left in this comment. It is not a good idea to post your address in any public location on the Internet. Same goes for your phone number and other personally identifiable information.

  2. anna

    can i use magic jack with dial up connection?

  3. Uju

    Hey,
    I’ve been looking 4 the magic jack’s phone number I will like to order it over the phone, and to find out if I connect the magic jack in my USB computer will my other phones work or just one phone?

  4. I would like to contact you, but I do not have Magic Jack’s toll free number. Please, send it to me.

    Thanks

  5. ARTHUR ZANTUHOS

    I JUST THREW OUT VONAGE WHICH IS A JOKE. THEY ARE THE WORST. I HAVE HAD MAGIC CUBE FOR SOME TIME, AND
    IT NEVER LETS ME DOWN. MY WIFE WANTED COMCAST PHONE SERVICE, SO WE GOT IT, AND WHILE SHE IS ON ONE OF HER MARATHON PHONE CALLS TO HER SISTER,
    ON COMCAST, I AM ABLE TO USE MAGIC CUBE AS ANOTHER LINE, AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. THIS, TO ME, IS A FANTASTIC
    SELLING POINT. I AM IN SEVENTH HEAVEN, SO, IF SOME ONE SAYS I DON’T NEED IT, I HAVE COMCAST, I’D SAY
    ” OH YES YOU DO” IT’S ANOTHER FREE LINE FOR YOU.

    AZANTUHOS@COMCAST.NET
    YOU CAN PUBLISH THIS. THANKS, A.Z.

  6. mykemike35@yahoo.com

    can i get the number for magic jack

    thanks

  7. randy ketlinski

    Is there a # one can call for tech advice?
    How do i retrieve my voice messages?

    • Belin

      you can click the v-mail, or dial your own number hit the star key, and the default pass 1234

  8. jennifer

    i need a phone number to call you all so i can fix something

  9. Pattie

    I Would Like To Have A Phone Number Where I Could call Customer Service And Ask Them A Few Questions. I Have Analog Cable And Supposedly My Service Is Ethernet But I Pay For And Ask For Broadband When I Got My Internet Service Through Suddenlink Communications. Just Wondering If Magic Jack Will Work With My Service. State WV Zip 25320

  10. Yes, you are right. MagicJack does have some flaws: you have to have computer on, sometimes is less than good quality, bad customer service, et al. BUT, they are a new company. Was the Model T perfect when it was invented?
    I am very very happy with mine and sure, I’ve had a few problems. I had to restart it yesterday when I didn’t have dialtone, sometimes the quality is less than good, the comp has to stay on. I’ll be honest in saying its not perfect, but it was $20 a YEAR for service. Use it just for outbound LD and it pays for itself quickly..

    If you still want a magicjack, you can save big buying at http://www.buymagicjackcheap.com I saved almost $10 and no hassles with MJs customer service…

    • Linda

      I so agree that their customer service is very lacking. I called the number and the guy could not even spell my name or get my email address right. I spelled it out very slowly and then he got mad. I stated I am going slowly because you said I was going to fast. Then he said Thank you really slowly and I stated do not patronize me because I am really not in the mood!

  11. VomAlpha1

    Today I purchased MJ, tried and it works great. Just plug it in the usb port, fill out my personal info. and the number was provided with in minutes. Works great in the US. Just wonder how does it work in Mexico. Can I purchase one here, send it to my friends in Mexico? Wonder if it will work. Or One needs to purchased down there and programmed?????????????

  12. Betty

    I would like the phone number so i can order the magic jack over the phone as i will not put my credit card on the web

  13. Barbara King

    I have spent hours trying to find a way to talk to someone at MagicJack to no avail. It is advertised for small businesses so I naturally thought I could use my own phone number, but no! They have to give me a new phone number, so my expensive yellow page ad would be negated. I can’t find an address to send it back to or a person to talk to. The number I finally got from Manta just repeats a message over and over until a person calling just gives up. Somenone please help me!

  14. my magicJack will not come up. It reads connect to the
    internet and it is. To correct the problem what Am I suppose to do?

    • Belin

      in the menu of your magic jack go to advanced user click run magicjack fix…it will open your browser…scroll down to the fix area…and click it…3 fixs will appear. 1 for contacts…1 for connection….and 1 for software error. Click the connection one.

  15. My magicJack says it is not connected to the internet how do I go about correcting his problems. It says error 3.

  16. I would like the number to The MagicJack company so I can talk to a Tech Support Person.

    • JEAN WELCH

      I would like to return my phones since I cannot send one to my family in England and my family in Belize central America. That why I was getting other phones. How can I get a phone number for Magicjack so I can speak to a customer service?

  17. Moonie Lawn

    I’ve had magicjack for a total of four days. When I received it, came in someone else name. It was hard to install or register. Finally it installed and it worked perfect. For three days, “It Worked Great”. Now it doesn’t work,install,register or reboot. Plus there is know one to help with this problem. Currently I on a company with my first offices. Magicjack is the phone company I selected for my business. Just think I was ordering five more. But my credit card didn’t go throw. It’s been two hold days texting,writting, and talking to a computer. Therefore I need help or a return.

    • Belin

      check your device manager to see if your cd rom is being detected. if it is not then you need to repair or reinstall windows. If it still does not come up, it means your motherboard is on the fritz, and will require purchasing a new one.

  18. percival beacroft

    I have two magic jacks, one in my Texas home which works. I bought the second for my home in Mississippi. It cuts out half way through a conversation. I cannot find a TELEPHONE NUMBER to contact a live person to find out the problem. In short, if I do not find someone tomorrow I would never buy another one and would not suggest to a friend that they should buy one.
    P.Beacroft
    Woodville, Miss.

  19. Alan Meeker

    Where are the Magic Jack responses to the above questions? I want to talk to a person before I order it. I have two questions. I saw the tail end of an ad with the phone number, on TV. I did not have a pen handy to copy the number down. If I cannot get the answers I need, I may not order. Reading some of the problems, I may not anyway. A timely response would be appreciated.

  20. I just called radio shack and im going there to get my magic jack so im praying it works wonderful i we will let you know now that radio shack sells them and a ten day money back guareentee. but the number to magic jack is support-1-281-404-1551 i found it on line thanks linda

  21. Caressa

    Thanks for hunting down the phone number and letting us know. I am on hold right now w/ the “billing” department…that’s the only option they give. I don’t care, I need tech support and I will not spend another HOUR online w/ them, going around and around in circles and never actually addressing my issue!!!

  22. Caressa

    Don’t bother calling that phone number if you have ANY questions about technical issues. I was referred to the online chat, I immediately refused and explained to the lady that I got NO HELP from them and I don’t have all day to sit online and go around in circles. I asked to speak w/ a manager. I was put on hold, then she came back w/ that the mngr said he/she would just tell me the same thing….go online. What a joke!!!! They “only have billing support over the phone but all technical support is all done online. There’s no phone support for technical problems.” HUH???!!!! Don’t put out a product then slack on customer service and support. No long term success for that company will be had if they continue on like this. LAME!

  23. Anne King

    Please please help me get a telephone number so I can talk to a person I have never never hear of a business without a phone are we the dum ones?

  24. Anne King

    I can not get a call to go out!!!!!

  25. orion jean

    is it possible to keep my old phone number?

  26. wanda hughes

    I bought the magic jack at radio shack and the servic for incoming calls has been caught off please advise the number is 7702492879

  27. MilyM

    Hello I have a Question!!!!
    I just wonder if I buy a Jack Magic here in the USA, and can I set up like I was in Mexico… that means I can get Unlimited calls to Mexico from USA?? is posible this??

  28. 12781 kentuckyst.

    can some one please help me to get my magic jack back on .I had went to bed & the nextday my phone was off I can here a dial tone but I cant dial out or recive any phone calls.I would really appericate.thank you.

  29. Linda

    Be careful with magic jack as getting anything taken care of takes pulling teeth I think they all are many bricks short of a full load!

  30. Linda

    Oh yeah it is not $19.99 it is $39.95 so that is a false statement.

  31. Frankie Murphey

    I like the magic jack but I have a new e-mail address an I would like to give u it jmurphey2008@***. I need
    to give my yearly payment of $19.95 but have a new account.
    so please e-mail where I make payment to magic jack. My
    magic jack phone # is (609)-333-**** if u need to call.
    thank you Frankie Murphey

    Admin note: Removed email address and phone number. These should not be left in a public post like this one.

  32. rosita tindall

    I installed your MJ today. However, I was unable to get my local area code, which is 618 in Illinois. My only option was area codes near Chicago!!! My children use their cell phones to call me!! This will cost them a fortune. What the heck is going on here!! I guess if it is too good to be true, blah blah blah. You say you have sold over a million. The first years bill is paid in advance, and you can’t afford customer service!!! I will keep this service for a week and if I can’t get some answers, this is going straight back for a refund. Does anyone have the customer service phone #? please help!!!

    • Belin

      As long as they are in thier calling area to make phone calls they should not be charged long distance charges. they will only acrue when you leave your calling area or “in roam”

  33. Sue McKendrick

    I tried to change the expiration date on my credit card and it wouldn’t take it. I tried to just order with a new card and also the same card changing the expiration date. I should only have to pay the 1 year 19.95, but I couldn’t renew. I can’t call you. The customer service is terrible. It needs to be where people can get hold of you in these situations. Please let me know how I can get my service back. Sue McKendrick

  34. AnnieEsq

    I’ve had magic jack a few months and am really happy with it. Here’s some answers to peoples questions.

    It cost $40 and then $20 each year to renew, well worth what you save on monthly phone service. I save over $400 a year.

    Quality of reception is good, comparable to a land line. It acts up on occassion, I just unplug and restart it.

    It only works with broadband or wireless internet and will not work if you have internet via dial-up or satellite (ie Hughes). Lite broadband could be a problem.

    You cannot port your old phone number. You will have to get a new phone number and are given a few options. Depending on your location, you may not be able to get the local area code. In most major cities you can get the same area code.

    Your phone number will not be listed in the phone directory.

    You can only make free long distance calls to US and Candada. International calls cost.

    Your computer must be on to use magic jack but your voice mail will work without it on.

    If you connect a cordless with several handsets to the magic jack you can use it throughout your house.

    Voice mail goes to your computer via e-mail as a sound/wav file.

    It has caller id, call waiting, voice-mail, hold, mute and contacts list. I believe it also has call forwarding and conference calling but I have not tried those features.

    They have no customer service telephone number but their online FAQ and knowledge database is comprehensive and I have resolved problems with their customer service chat service.

    If it gives you problems just unplug it and restart it. It sometimes needs to be reset.

    • Belin

      confrence calling you have to dial a certain number to get and give that number to others…waste …but it works. I have a magic jack and i have found all the ins and outs of the issues and problems that occur when having it. It works great for the most part. about 98% of the time it works perfectly. There is a fix to most of the issues. Go to Menu>Advanced User>Run Magicjack fix …it will open your browser..(IE) (Netscape) etc…scroll down to the fix…click it. It will bring you to where it lists 3 major issues. 1.Contacts not loading
      2.Connection issue
      3.Software error
      Click the one that fits your problem

  35. AnnieEsq

    Notice to posters.

    This is not magic jack’s website but just a write-up /review on it. You have to contact magic jack via chat on their website at magicjack.com if you have questions or problems with the products. They do not have a phone number for customer service or technical issues. Someone posted here that they have a number for billing issues: 1-281-404-1551. Haven’t tried the number.

    Also, don’t put your phone numbers or other personal information in your comments or anywhere on the web where it is public.

  36. linda

    I need to renew my service with MJ cant find the site to renew only to buy. Don’t need to buy MJ again.

  37. Magic Jack is a great tool of telecommunications…I tried installing it on my friend from the other side of the world and found no difficulty upon installation, it’s a user friendly equipment… great job!

  38. kevin james

    i am trying to pay my monthly bill and don’t know now please send an email as to how because i tried and did not suceed

  39. I want to try this Magic jack. I bet this is easy to use and very convenient. can i have contact number for this? thank you.

  40. I have not been very happy with Magic Jack. Costs seem low but they add up. I switched over to a bundled service with ATT for phone/internet/tv and it was affordable.

  41. when i was quite younger, i alway enjoy online chatting with friends and relatives~

  42. How is possible that a big comoany like magicjack.com donot have a telephone number for customer services.Is because your product is not that good as you guys presented in television?my magicjach 7542427649 is not working properly.To me is a piece of junk;I can never get a decent conversation,only noises and interferences.I want to cancel my mine magicjack renewal and the money i paid extra for international calls. in my personal opinion is a piece of s…. ,please give me credit.I donnt need this type of service.

  43. MIKE FARIES

    I PAID FOR 5 YEARS IN ADVANCE AND THEY SHUT IT OFF AFTER ONE YEAR WITH A MESSAGE TO RENEW MY SUB. MAGIC JACK STOLE MY MONEY.
    THERE IS NO WAY TO GET IN TOUCH WITH THESE A HOLES TO FIX THIS. THERE IS NO WAY I CAN FIND TO LET THE KNOW THAT THEY ARE FARKIN ME AND I DONT LIKE IT.
    I HEAR FINE ON MY END OF THE PHONE BUT ABSOLUTELY NO ONE ON THE OTHER END OF ANY LINE CAN UNDER STAND ME CUZ OF STATIC AND BREAK UPS. I CAN GET SOME CALLS IN BUT ONLY HALF THE CALLS GET THRU. HALF THE CALLERS CANNOT EVEN LEAVE A MESSAGE. THESE PEOPLE HAVE NO SUPPORT # BECUZ THEY NEVER INTENDED TO HONOR ANY CONTRACT FOR MORE THAN NOR DO THEY WANT TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR PROBLEMS ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY.

    YOU GET CRAPPY SERVICE? NO SUPPORT? CANT HAVE A CONVERSATION DUE TO BROKEN TRANSMISSIONS?
    DO YOU LIKE PAYING TO GET PORKED UP THE A_S?
    GET USE TO IT. ONCE THEY GET YOUR MONEY YOU WILL GET PLENTY OF ALL THE ABOVE.




Leave a Reply

