Honestly, I hadn’t even heard about Ben Stein’s movie until I saw all the blogs showing up about it. So, I’ve read the blogs and I checked out the preview on the Expelled website. I suspect that one of the scientists who Ben is referring to as getting harassed by the scientific community is one of his friends. If I was in his position with his media connections, I would do the same thing.

Then I got to thinking… The debate between atheists and Christians is semantic. An oversimplified view of evolution is that we evolved from sludge. The Bible states that we were formed from dust. So which is it? Dust or sludge? No matter which side is right, we have more in common than we think. Plus, we’re all here together and we all will have the same ending: death.

Why not spend our time working together? Let’s say, “Hey! Thanks for your contribution to the betterment of society and the world. Thanks for being my partner is making life more enjoyable for generations to come and for helping feed the families of those less fortunate than us. BTW, I believe we came from [sludge]/[dust]  (circle one).”

  1. Carrie

    I like your attitude. Getting along is all about finding each others similarities rather than focusing on each others differences. : )




Leave a Reply

