First Open Water Swim for the Triathlon

I went to Triathlon Lab in Redondo today to checkout some gear for the triathlon training I’m going through. We rented a wetsuit to checkout an open water swim. I was trying on all kinds of training outfits. Some of them were a little too Sven for me, if you know what I mean.

Anyway, we grabs our wetsuits and drove down to the Redondo Pier. When we got there, we packed it all up and then jogged down to the far side of the jetty. We slipped on our suits and goggles and dipped into the ocean. Its amazing how much warmer the Pacific Ocean is when you are wearing a swimming wetsuit.

I must say that swimming in the ocean is completely different than anything else I’ve done for training. I mean, I must have passed at least 20 gallons of salt water through my nose in the 1/4 mile swim we did. It was a great experience. Afterwards, we went back to Triathlon Lab. I picked up a sweet deal on a ton of training gear. The guy Robert was a great help with everything and hooked me up because of our mutual friend.

I’m really excited about the training that’s going to be taking place over the next couple of months for the LA Triathlon!

Related Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. very interesting and informative post. tris is a gr8 sport:)




Leave a Reply

