New Dance Charity

I’ve been talking about putting together a dance event and wanting to put together charity events for a while. Something finally started clicking while I was thinking about my Team Management and Leadership Program. A saying Raul Julia often said (not that the quote originated with him) kept playing over in my head, “If not you, then who? If not now, then when?”
Well, what a perfect combination: Charity and Dance!

My goal is for the local dance community to contribute to the local charities on a level we’ve never seen before. I want to become the Love Ride of dance events. I remember my very first Love Ride event. It was many moons ago. Back then, people were impressed by the 3600 motorcyclists who showed up to support the charity event. There are tens of thousands of bikers who show up now. It’s the largest single day motorcycle event in the world.

I know it’s going to take a while to get everything off the ground with the dance charities, but what better time than to start right now. I’ve started a project to get the ball rolling in the San Fernando Valley. I even posted blog on my new website (dancecause.org) to get the ball rolling!

Anyone who loves children, charities, animals, or dance is welcome to join and help cause these charitable events in their community. My goal is to allow us to all learn from each other so that we can really help cause our local community from the help of others.

technorati tags:, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Blogged with Flock

  1. Hi Jared, thanks for the blog post. It gets me thinking again on working towards my personal mission. I’d also like to combine both charity and dance but in a different way. I intend to volunteer as a dance instructor to teens, and provide them opportunities to perform and / or join competitions. Dance is inspirational and I want to spread many more people to feel that way too! :=)

  2. This is great. I wish you the best in your efforts and extend an invitation to allow me to support you in any way possible. I looked at your blogs, and I am inspired! Keep sharing 😀

  3. Hi – My name is Khai. I am on the board of directors for a modern dance company based in Pasadena, CA, that puts on professional performances and donates that money to charities. I would like to connect with anyone who is intrested in getting involved in some say or form with dance and charity related events. The company’s website is: http://www.lineagedance.org/

  4. Gigi

    Hi, My name is Gigi. I am a student and have a passion for dancing and helping others, combining the two is a fabulous idea in my opinion. If any of you decide to start a charity fund raising event that involves dancing and is in the London area then please please do post information about it or get in touch, I would soooo love to participate 🙂

  5. 215 West Main St. Fort Kent. Maine 04743

    HI,
    My name is Sonya Charette-Bodo and I have been a studio owner since 2001. Every year students from the show put on a holiday show and give to charities. We have done X-mas for Katrina, donating to the local food pantry, donating to the local community high school dance team. I am interested in getting more involved.
    ~Sonya




Leave a Reply

