The Simpsons, DOH!

Last night was certainly an unexpected series of events. I received a phone call from the agent for April Scott (I blogged about her at the GBK Oscar event) to talk about a couple of things. He mentioned that April was hosting a modeling show for Warning Models at a location in Beverly Hills. Obviously, I’m not going to say no.

He emails me the location and tells me I’m on the guest list for April and to bring a friend. Well, my good friend (and former Art Director for Gadget Universe), Carlos comes to mind. Let me tell you, grown men can cry from more than just getting kicked in the privates. We grabbed dinner and then hurried over to the show because we were running a little late.

Uh oh! Filled to capacity. Uh, we’re on the list. “Everyone out here is on the list, you aren’t getting in until they finish the show.” Sorry, I was here for the show. I call Julian, April’s Agent. A few minutes later, I’m in the show. Here are few videos I snapped with my phone. I really need a higher quality camera on my phone!

Runway Rap

At this point, you are probably thinking, “What does this have to do with The Simpsons?” Well, after the show was over, I congratulated Julian on the show and the models. April was talking with a guy named David, who happens to be one of the creators of The Simpsons. He was there with a guy named Matt, which everyone who watches the Simpsons will know is the main name on the Simpsons.

I got to congratulate David on the success of the show that launched the Fox Network. He shared a funny saying that they’ve had about Fox: “It’s the house that Bart built.” It was nice to reminisce with David on the days when The Simpsons was a short during the Tracey Ullman show. He was another pleasant surprise in Hollywood, as he was really a great guy and very easy to talk with. Given that he helped start the most successful animated television show of all time, he had no massive ego to speak of. He also thanked me for my congratulations to him on the show’s success and for getting the word “Doh” in the dictionary.

Both Carlos and I had a great time last night. I’m looking forward to the next adventure.

You can see more videos from the runway show at my youtube page.

technorati tags:, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Blogged with Flock

    Leave a Reply

