Arrogant teachers

I’m not sure what was in the air around teachers during the early part of 1994. During the same time as the letter below (1994), I had a teacher argue with me over whether one private citizen could sue another private citizen for violating his “civil rights”. The evening after I argued with my teacher in front of the class, I spoke with my father regarding this subject.

My father was going to the law library that evening anyway, so he took a little extra time to find me the exact law regarding this particular subject. Clearly stated in the letter of the law was the term “color of state“. This term essentially means that civil rights violations apply to the state and local government and government agencies, not an average citizen like you or me.

I brought in the copy of the law that my father had made for me and handed it to my teacher. He apologized in front of everyone and then thanked me for taking the initiative to follow through on the pursuit of education.

Well, this wasn’t the case with the teacher at some school in some town, who knows where? Just take a look at this letter posted on entensity.

Entensity.net – Post Images

I had to do a double take when I read this. WHAT!?! My favorite part is the second to last paragraph:

Although he was correct, Alex’s actions show a blatant disregard for authority, and a complete lack of respect for his school. In the future, Alex would be better off simply accepting my teachings without resistance.

Honestly, this is impressive. I give this teacher the honorary 1994 lame a$$ of the year award. Thank gawd for kids like Alex. Thank gawd that there are people who are not willing to just listen to an arrogant teacher who believes that we should simply accept his/her “teachings without resistance.” Thank gawd that we have people who are willing to stand up to authority figures who are clearly in the wrong.

While this is a rather trivial issue (especially since the great metric takeover never took place), it is an excellent example of the arrogance of some teachers. By no means am I suggesting that all teachers are like this. As my example from my own schooling shows, there are teachers who are willing to support the pursuit of education rather than their own ego and control issues.

Damn! Now I need to go find my inner peace. This kind of stuff really gets me riled up. I hope Alex’s teachers brought this letter to the principal’s attention. If that didn’t work, I hope they brought it to the super intendant’s attention. If that didn’t work, I hope they brought it to the state board of education. If that didn’t work, I hope they stated civil unrest in whatever town they were in! Alright, I think I’ve vented enough. My inner fields of daisies have been found. šŸ˜€

technorati tags:, , , , , , ,

Blogged with Flock

  1. I’ve seen this letter – couldn’t believe it myself. Good post!

  2. ken

    Bastard teachers and their unwilling to accept anything outside of their knowledge. I had plenty of teachers who thought they new some stuff about computers and technology and disowned anything I had to say because I was young and had a difference in opinion then them. However with a little bit of leg work and *cough* schooling. I have showed them that they’re full of crap and won in respect and in the conflicting opinions.

  3. bigfeet

    I stumbled upon your blog via a “rant” tag.

    Teachers like this is the reason I have started homeschooling my children! Thanks for sharing…

  4. Dwasifar

    You’ve been conned. The letter is a fake. Note how the type does not wrinkle along with the page. Though it is supposed to look like it was typed on a typewriter, it contains smart quotes. And “Adam Hilliker” is close enough to “Adolf Hitler” to make the note’s April 20 date (Hitler’s birthday) suspect.

  5. Just went through your pages. Are you interested in my fun emphasis I have a joke for you =) What do you get if you cross a giant and a vampire? A BIG pain in the neck!




Leave a Reply

